Speakers Schedule Photographs Location Sponsors Resources Home
Freedom Two Point O - Distributed Democracy - Dialogue for a Connected Word


Anita L. Allen

Professor of Law and Philosophy, University of Pennsylvania

David Banisar

Freedom of Information Project, Privacy International

Ann Bartow

Professor of Law, University of South Carolina

Ralf Bendrath

University of Bremen

Francesca Bignami

Associate Professor, Duke University School of Law

James Boyle

Professor, Duke Law School

Co-Director, Center for the Study of the Public Domain

David Burnham

Co-Director, Trans Actional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC)

Giovanni Buttarelli

Secretary General, del Garante per la protezione dei dati personal

Vinton G. Cerf

Chairman, ICANN

Enrique Chaparro

Fundación Vía Libre, Argentina

David Chaum

Founder, Digicash

Julie E. Cohen

Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center

Coauthor, "Copyright in a Global Information Economy"

Lillie Coney

Coordinator, National Committee for Voting Integrity

Senior Policy Analyst, EPIC

Amitai Etzioni

Founder and Director, The Communitarian Network

David J. Farber

Professor of Computer Science and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

Director, Distributed Computer Laboratory

Former Chief Technologist, Federal Communications Commission

David H. Flaherty

Former Privacy and Information Commissioner, British Columbia

Oscar H. Gandy

Information and Society Professor, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania

Amb. David A. Gross

US Department of State

Coordinator for International Communications and Information Policy in the Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs

Wade J. Henderson

Executive Director, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights

Rep. Rush Holt

Deborah Hurley

Author, "Polestar: Human Rights in the Information Society"

Jerry Kang

Visiting Professor, Georgetown University Law Center

Author, "Race, Rights and Reparations: Law and the Japanese American Internment"

Author, "Communications Law and Policy"

Nuala O'Connor Kelly

Chief Privacy Officer, US Department of Homeland Security

Ian R. Kerr

Canada Research Chair in Ethics, Law and Technology, University of Ottawa

Judith F. Krug

American Library Association, Office for Intellectual Freedom

Senator Patrick J. Leahy

Elizabeth Longworth

Director, UNESCO Information Society Division


Gary Marx

Emeritus Professor MIT


Pedro Mendizábal

Chairman, Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility - Peru

Mary Minow

Attorney, consultant, and a former librarian

Coauthor, "The Library's Legal Answer Book"

Peter G. Neumann

Principal Scientist, SRI International

Chairman, National Committee for Voting Integrity

Author, "Computer Related Risks"

Stephanie Perrin

Senior Fellow, EPIC

Katitza Rodriguez

Privaterra Project - Peru

Pamela Samuelson

Professor, University of California at Berkeley

Founder, Samuelson Law, Technology and Public Policy Clinic

Paul M Schwartz

Professor of Law, Brooklyn Law School

Bruce Schneier

Chief Technical Officer, Counterpane Internet Security

Author, "Beyond Fear: Thinking Sensibly About Security in an Uncertain World"

Barbara Simons

Past President, Association for Computing Machinery


Brooke Singer and Jamie Schulte


Robert Ellis Smith

Publisher, "Privacy Journal

Author, "Ben Franklin's Web Site: Privacy and Curiosity from Plymouth Rock to the Internet"

Daniel J. Solove

Professor, George Washington University

Coauthor, "Information Privacy Law"

Edward G. Viltz

President, Public Interest Registry

Paul Wolfson

Counsel, Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering

Former Assistant to the Solicitor General